Skip to main content

White House Sends Warnings to Sanctuary Cities

The Department of Justice sent letters to nine jurisdictions today, demanding that these cities prove they don’t have rules that keep local law enforcement from telling federal officials people’s immigration statuses. The letters say that, if these so-called “sanctuary city” jurisdictions don’t respond by June 30th, they won’t receive certain federal grants, the New York Times reports.

Letters went to the state of California; New York City; Chicago; Cook County, where Chicago is located; Miami-Dade County; Philadelphia; Las Vegas; Milwaukee; and New Orleans.

Meanwhile, in California, a district court judge heard arguments from the Department of Justice and two Golden State counties over President Donald Trump’s January executive order that withheld federal funding from what the administration deemed to be sanctuary cities. Judge William Orrick III “strongly questioned” the purpose of that order, Reuters reports.