Skip to main content

Courts Block Trump’s Newest Travel Ban

Federal judges in Hawaii and Maryland temporarily blocked parts of the White House’s newest travel and refugee ban last night and this morning. The ban was supposed to go into effect at midnight today.

The rulings mean that visitors from Syria, Iran, Yemen, Libya, Sudan, and Somalia — as well as refugees in general — should continue to be able to enter the United States, CNN reports.

President Donald Trump first issued an executive order suspending citizens of seven Muslim-majority countries from traveling into the U.S.—and refugees from any country from moving into America — in late January. Courts soon blocked that order, prompting the Trump administration to try to rewrite it in a way that it would remain legal, including narrowing the targeted countries from seven to six. The Department of Justice plans to defend the current order, a spokeswoman told the New York Times.