Skip to main content

The European Parliament Wants to Halt Visa-Free Travel for U.S. Citizens

The European Parliament voted today to impose visas on visiting United States citizens, who currently can travel to European Union countries visa-free, Reuters reported. The pressure stems from E.U. policy demanding visa reciprocity — meaning equal travel allowances between both parties — with other countries or travel zones. The U.S. requires travel visas for citizens from five European countries: Poland, Romania, Bulgaria, Croatia, and Cyprus. Any new requirement for U.S. travelers to Europe would be temporary.